Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe it is better for them to study alone Discuss both views and give your own opinions

It is generally believed that rewards should be given to individuals who excel at school. While this thinking may be valid to a certain extent, I would argue that it is better for schools to reward those who show progress in their study as well.

It is understandable why some people advocate rewarding the elite students exclusively. The key rationale in favor of this view is that these students have applied themselves to attain the best performance, and thus it is sensible that their efforts earn them the praises and privileges over those with lesser achievements. However, this policy may have an adverse effect on the rest of the students. Because only a small number of smart individuals can top exams, other students may feel overwhelmed and gradually become disheartened. The implication of this is that they may lose the incentive to study, and the overall performance of the school may deteriorate.

Instead of the aforementioned approach, I am of the opinion that not only outstanding students but also those who aspire to better performance should be rewarded. This would incentivize all students to be diligent in their study and promote healthy competition in the school, which would be of direct benefit to everybody’s progress. My university class perfectly exemplifies this principle. Every time a student gets a higher grade than in the previous exams, he or she will be praised in front of the whole class. This form of encouragement gives everybody a sense of accomplishment and they endeavor to study harder as a result.

In conclusion, while there may be reasons to support only rewarding the best students, I believe schools must also reward those who show signs of improvement.