Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creativ

In recent years, children have been early exposed to television and other types of

electronic media which is reported to bring more harm than good. The excessive

amount of time children spent on watching TV can be ascribed to a host of factors.

That issue must be addressed by definite actions.

There are two main reasons contributed to the problem why kids show a tendency to

spend more leisure time watching TV than outdoor activities. The primary explanation

is that the programmes have been broadcast all day with addictive contents, such as

vivid and colorful animations, in order to evoke children’s curiosity. Cartoon Network

and Disney Channel with their hundreds of high-resolution animation shows are

evident examples of this. On top of that, the lack of parental care should be blamed

for the negative influences of television on kids. To be more specific, parents today

are too busy with life-circle to spend time encouraging children to do some healthier

activities like painting, playing sports, cycling, …. As a result, children turn to

watching televisions during their spare time as a leisure hobby instead of playing

outside. This sedentary life prevents them from participating in active or creative

activities.

A number of strong measures must be applied to tackle this issue. The first solution

is that parents should keep an eye on children’s daily watching by activating parental

control mode and setting a fixed operating time limit on their television set. The

second key is that fathers and mothers should spare more time with their kids and

encourage them to take part in creative activities. For example, parents could form a

family team to play sports that play on a regular basis such as football, which may

appeal to children more than television. As a consequence, children would feel more

motivated and cared for.

In conclusion, several factors are cited as causes why children adopt a passive habit

of watching televisions more than ever before. The best remedy is the intervention of

parents, which help kids to lead a more healthier life.