Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creativ

Child development is irrefutably one of the most important measures of

every nations prosperity. However, an unfortunate development as o late

has been that their creativity and physical development have been

degenerate, manifesting itself in a fall in the amount o time spend on

active and creative things, compare to considerable time for watching

television. This trend can be attributed to a host of factors and some

radical solutions should be taken to tackle the problems it may bring.

There are two main factors leading to the current trend. First, the lack of

parental care is to blame. Today, parents are up to their ear in work and

hectic schedules. Therefore, they could not spend enough time with their

child and allow their children to use smartphones freely to entertain

themself. Second, the overloaded curriculum also precludes children

from going in for physical activity. For example, in most high school in

Vietnam, students are required to finish a huge amount of assignments

before the next lecture every day, which leave them a little amount of

time to engage in other activity like extra curriculum activity.

In order to address those problems, several actions can be taken. The

first solution is that parents should spend more time interacting with

their child, and limit the amount o time that a child can watch television.

This could be done by activating the parental control mode and fixed

operating time limit on their television set. Another solution is that

schools should include subjects like Art or Physical Education as a core

subject. Thereby, children could involve more in creative things and

outdoor exercise.

In conclusion, lack of parental care and heavy school workload have

made it difficult for many children to lead a healthy life. Therefore, the

proposed solutions should be applied to remedy this situation.