Some people think it is more important to plant more tree in open areas in towns and cities than provide more housing. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, there is a trend that people plant more and more trees in open urban areas. While I agree that this tendency has many benefits to the environment in general, I believe that it is more important to build houses and apartments in those areas.

On the one hand, the benefits of growing more green space in towns are indisputable. It is obvious that trees purify air, which significantly reduces dust generated by transportations and construction sites; therefore, air pollution will be partially decreased. Besides that, it also reduces noise pollution thanks to leaves’ capacity in sound distributing. Hence, generally, the living environment in urban areas will be greatly improved.

On the other hand, the lack of shelter will have many extreme drawbacks. Firstly, in urban areas, it will greatly raise the rental price because of the continuous increase in housing demand, which creates highly financial pressure to most of the people who are living there. As a result, more people can not afford an apartment, more social problems will appear, such as raising homeless and crime rate. Secondly, building houses in rural areas also has some negative effects on the economy. It is obvious that commuters will have to transport further and longer to work in city centres, which not only reduces their productivity but also wastes more expense for transport purposes.

In conclusion, planting trees in urban areas to protect the environment is very important. From my point of view, I believe it is more considerable to continue to construct houses in those areas. However, people should find efficient solutions to balance between housing demand and environmental protection instead of sacrificing on of them.