Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, investing money in infrastructure and transportations raises controversy in society. It is argued that governments should invest their budget on roads and motorways rather than public transport systems. Although this view has its own justification, I firmly agree that public transport systems are the most important priority in each nation.

The first explanation is that spending money on public transport systems is beneficial for citizens. It is obvious that trains and subways lines can carry more people to each cabin and are cheaper when compared to cars and buses. Moreover, public transports also need to be considered because of their convenience. Payment, for instance, a lot of machines for auto-checking were installed helping users to save their time when checking in. When people use public transports for most of their purposes, it is clear that there will be fewer private vehicles on the road.

Another plus point when governments are concerned about public transport systems is that it can solve some major problems that almost all big metropolitans have to deal with. It means that rail transportation and subway systems are established separately from other systems which have turned out to be an alternative route. A prime example is that if citizens choose to take a subway to different destinations, stucking in congestion during peak hours will not be an issue anymore. Moreover, when people use public transports instead of private vehicles, the carbon emission and noise from cars and motorbikes are reduced significantly, which can effectively contribute to environmental protection. Thus, boosting public transport use is a top priority measure for governments to tackle major issues.

To conclude, although infrastructure needs to be invested, spending money on the public transport system also includes some benefits for both users and governments. From my perspective, it is recommended that public transports need to be developed and used widely among citizens.