Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the government budget should be invested in traffic infrastructure or public transport systems is open to debate. In my opinion, each has substantial contribute to the society, and therefore should receive equal fundings.

On the one hand, there are some benefits of improving roads and motorways. Firstly, as as there is a significant increase in the number of traffic infrastructures, the safety of commuters would also be ensured, this might contribute to reducing traffic road fatalities. Secondly, nowadays there is a significant rise in the number of cars, motorbikes and scooter in downtown areas. This lead to one of the most aching issues is urban traffic congestion in these places. A feasible measure of this matter is that the authority should spend money on expanding road capacity and implementing road improvement scheme. As a result, there would be more space for a larger volume of traffic and safer roads for all inhabitants.

On the other hand, it is true that public transport systems also play a vital role in society. One reason is that travelling by public transports would help to ease pressure on the city’s main roads. The fewer people use private vehicles, the less traffic on the roads. For example, the metro systems in Hanoi are currently under construction and projected to be in operation by 2020, which are expected to help reduce traffic density and allow people to commute more easily and more quickly. Furthermore, better public transport systems would create a major lifestyle shift, encouraging people to leave their private vehicles at home. This could dramatically reduce pollution and improve air quality particularly in developing economies.

In conclusion, I believe that similar amount of money should be allocated to road and public transport to ensure smooth traffic flow.