Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Over the past few decades, social members have sparked off a heated controversy over the influences brought about by hosting sporting occasions. Personally, I believe that it exerts a double-edged impact upon the country and will support my view with specific reasons and examples.

On the one hand, many citizens conclude that organizing sporting events is not an appropriate decision in terms of economic. Indeed, the disability to fulfill the event’s requirement of infrastructure make a substantial investment imperative for host nation to ensure the sufficient availability of traffic and sporting venues. However, the lower level of development a country has, the more enormous investment it needs. Thus, while many priorities like environmental pollution or poor living standard become heated, it may be deemed as an unnecessary financial burden, or even a budget extravagance. Additionally, the short-term use of monuments, making them redundant after the tournament, can exacerbate the problem, an inadequate outcome. That was why Brazil authority faced a barrage of criticism when it hosted the 2014 FIFA world cup.

On the other hand, there are several reasons that people supporting these events can point out. First, they can create enthusiasm and excitement, motivating nationwide interests in playing sport and promoting health. Furthermore, organizing an event, a country is more likely to assure a persistent increase in recognition and global figure, as we see in the 2010 FIFA world cup, when the impression of prosperous and “post-apartheid” South Africa went viral. Another advantage can be reaped thanks to the ability to easing political tension. For example, PyeongChang 2018 Olympic winter Games was considered as a diplomatic breakthrough, assisting a firm basis for nation conciliation and denuclearization in Korean Peninsula.

In brief, it seems to me that besides economic challenges, hosting sporting events still remains able to create positive impacts on the country, since the advantages can outweigh the disadvantages.