Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is disputed that whether money is squanderred to hold huge sport competitions, or they have positive implications on the host nation. This essay will elaborate on both side of the argument, and explain why the gains would overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the country organizing the events in many dimensions. Large sport festivals are opportunities for nations in order to promote their national images to the world. The promotion not only renders the host regconizable to the rest of the planet, but fosters their soft power, thus facilitates economic, cultural, social cooperations globally. Another advantage of holding international sporting events is the support for sports development. Companies are often keen on attatching their brands with successful athletes such as Messi, Ussan Bolt. Thus, the success of such emminent professionals would attract extra resources to spur the progress of their sport in general.

On the other hand, there are dark sides of organizing colossal sport events. The first is it would cost the host nation a predigous amount of investment. Despite the huge allocation of resources in advance, it is uncertain that the authorities are able to reap the benefit from their invesment. It is common that nations often mire down in debt after holding large sport competitions. Additionally, the avalanche of visitors to a foreign country will take a toll on the well-being of the local. Differences in religious believes, customs, and lifestyle would place the foreigners at odds with local citizens. This acts as a predecessor for unwanted conficts between the native and overseas sport enthusiasts.

In sum, even though the outcome of spending money on sport events is unclear and the events would hobble the regular routine of local people, the organizers are given great chance to introduce their nations and attain financial as well as other benefits from them.