Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important.Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

A person's behavior in adult life is hugely dependent on her overall development in her younger years. There are a number of factors which affect a child's mental and physical development. There is a difference in opinion, however, whether social media like TV and music along with friends play the most important role in this or the family is still the biggest contributor.

On one hand, these days children spend most of their time in front of the Television, consuming a wide range of audio visuals varying from educational like National Geographic to worthless like Ftv. Unless monitored closely their parents, children can fall prey to obscene and violent content which can leave a bad mark in young minds.Furthermore, music is also a quiet preferred source of enjoyment among children and is scientifically proven to have psychological benefits. However, I believe other than these means, friends play a major role in the behavioral development of their peers as it is said that "Birds of the same feather flock together".

On the other hand, I am also a firm believer of the fact that "one learns what one sees". As children spend most of their time at home, it can be said the family is one the most important influencer in a child's development. The parents/family are the first teachers of a child as it is them she observes after gaining enough consciousness. They in their child's best interest teach them the difference between right and wrong; shaping their mind for the future. Moreover, the family has the power to control a child's exposure to social media like Television and Music. They can also make sure that their child is always in the company of good friends.

Therefore, in conclusion, I believe that family plays the most significant role in all round development of a child. But at the same time the influence of Television, Music and friends is also substantial in this regard and cannot be ignored.