Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that family still remains very important.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that nowadays upbringing of children is greatly affected by the media they are exposed to and the company they keep. However, others are of the opinion that family is still the foremost factor that determines a child's development. Wile both sides have convincing arguments, I believe social factors like TV and friends have largely replaced parental influence.

Those who think familial impact being more important proclaim that parents and siblings are first mentors for the children. Kids start looking up to them from early childhood so this form of pedagogy begins far before they can indulge in media commodities or socialize with other kids. Thus, values instilled by parents single-handedly become a part of their conscious as well as sub-conscious personalities. Moreover, it is argued that kids are most receptive in first years of their lives and adapt to their surroundings conveniently. Since most of that time is spent in parental supervision, it is possible for parents to tweak traits to children according to their own customs before without interference from external factors.

However, I believe that nowadays children are more prone to teachings delivered to them by technology and society. To begin with, a fast-paced life has made parents occupied with plethora of career goals. This results in most of their time being spent in workplaces rather than with their offspring. An adult in America, for instance, spends an average of nine hours per day in office often without even a decent lunch break. This hectic schedule does not allow working father and mother to give sufficient attention to their children. Consequently, kids become more attached to electronic devices like TV or social groups learning important life lessons from them instead of their family. In addition to this peer pressure plays a significant role nowadays because kids are more prone to adapting habits from their age fellows. Finally, an increase in smart phones and iPad ownership among younger age group has also added to the trend of social factors influencing upbringing of children. A recent study conducted by Oxford university shows that screen time has escalated to an average of over five hours per day among the age group lower than ten in last decade. This leads to easy accessibility of technological devices where online music and TV channels can be streamed. Therefore, these hefty figures clearly prove that parental influence over personality development of children has plummeted significantly and external factors like TV and peers have become new tutors of the younger ones.

To sum it up, although some people still think family holds most power when it comes to teaching values to younger generation, I believe this perception is rather fallacious. In reality, things like friends and media have become main stakeholders in deciding set of characteristics that will manifest in a young fellows. Therefore, it is not surprising to predict that in near future social factors will cater spiritual needs and parental roles will be solely limited to providing children with materialistic things only.