Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Men and women have long been believed to be endowed with distinct characteristics. This has affected the range of jobs open to them as well as their career choices.

There is no denying that males and females inherently differ in a number of ways. First, there often exist biological differences between genders, especially in terms of their physical strength and build. In general, men are unarguably more muscular and taller than their female counterparts. Second, different social expectations for different genders mean that certain sets of personality traits are primarily developed among either males or females. While men are often associated with toughness and decisiveness, women are socially expected to be gentle and dexterous.

Differences in personality traits between males and females have caused gender-specific occupations to remain the norm in our contemporary society. What with their physical superiority and strong characters, men are in a unique position to hold physically and mentally demanding jobs in the world of work. For example, firefighting is overwhelmingly male-dominated as physical stamina and mental toughness are prerequisites to completing tasks in this challenging field. Given women’s gentleness and dexterity, they are tailor-made to work in caring and nursing professions. In fact, most females are qualified as nurses because they have caregiver mentality and exhibit tenderness in the way they handle difficult patients.

In conclusion, males and females are born with different sets of attributes. In other words, some qualities are more easily found in men than in women and vice versa, dictating the types of jobs that are suitable for them and their choice of career.