Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Being physically fit is certainly believed to be the paramount essential factor to attain victory in a sports game. However, some people turn their backs to this view point and think that mental toughness is way vital. Personally, I'm of the opinion that both of them are equally important and I will further elaborate each of these aspects.

It is easily understood why physical fitness is often referred to be the main element for success of all athletics performances. To elaborate, being fit allows sportspeople to carry out challenging actions or movements and maintain them in a match for a long time. Take football as an example, potential players are required to have a great stamina and brute strength to continually perform in a 90-minute game so that there will not need to be any substitution for the less competent standby ones. Another instance of strength demanding sports is weightlifting where an athlete needs to be adequately strong to lift their desired weights without dropping them which may consequently lead to self injuries.

Although being physically fit is undeniably vital for a sportsperson, having a strong will is also regarded as a game-changing factor in majority of sports matches. When a player is mentally fit, he or she can easily confront the pressure and hardships in intense training periods and competitions and eradicate them. Moreover, obstacles like injuries or continuous defeats are unable to talk them into giving up. Besides, will-power also helps sportspeople to calm and focused which enhances their abilities to perform in sport games. Chrisiano Ronaldo is known to be one of the top football player for his flexible movements and diligent reactions to his opponent's movements all thanks to him being calm and confident.

To sum up, both physical and mental fitness equally matters the quality of a sport game as well as the victory. Hence, I believe as a sports player, not only does one has to be physically strong but he also needs to be cognitively firm in order to perform well in his match.