Some people think that money is the best gift to give young people while others think other types of gifts are better for young people.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether giving money to young people is the ideal gift or whether other kinds of presents are best for the receivers.

This essay will both perspective, and think that nothing can be more precious than a well thought personal gift from our loved ones.

The idea that money makes excellent presents is advocated by people on the grounds of individual and financial maturity. With regard to the former, nowadays, young people already have what they need in terms of toys and gadgets, and so giving them more will not be of benefit. A financial gift can leave them free to choose the gift they want. The second is that the majority of problems they face in life can easily be overcome with cash, so money helps them in planning for their future by setting up an enterprise if well managed, and the child can learn valuable skills from the process of choosing to save or spend their money. This could make them more financially mature and independent.

Other presents, I believe, are a better choice for reasons related to spiritual values and skill development. As far as the first idea is concerned, money is an impersonal gift, and it shows no understanding of the interests of the receiver. It is, therefore, more appropriate to give something that shows that you understand that adults know what the child desires, such as a piece of jewellery or a t-shirt from his or her favourite sports club. A further explanation is that an educational gift such as books or a useful present such as a watch, allows the youngster to develop or improve his/her skills and so directly benefits.

In conclusion, I think both of these perspectives have merit. However, I think that the case for other gifts is better than money.