Some people think that the most important factor in choosing a job is the salary/ money. To what extent do you agree/ disagree ?

It is an indisputable fact that when it comes to searching for an occupation, salary is one of the utmost concerns among applicants. While I agree that earnings play a vital role in adults’ life to some extent, I hold a firm belief that other factors are more of importance.

One predominant reason why money should be taken into serious consideration is that rewarding salary is a prerequisite to ensure our survival. On the grounds that in this ever-growing society, consumerism has been increasing on an unprecedented scale, therefore a great deal of money is required with a view to keeping abreast of the basic human needs. As a result, finding jobs with reasonable wages is a must for workers, given that they are held accountable for paying their bills, utilities, healthcare and food.

Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that job seekers should place a premium on many other instrumental criteria. The first and perhaps the most persuasive incentive is that job selection ought to be derived from self-fulfillment. Specifically, passion makes it possible for labourers to be content with their current occupations as well as willing to apply themselves to what they are working on; otherwise, employees are inclined to feel frustrated, thus leading to the fact that they will not work to their capacity. As a consequence, in every hardship they always find creative ways to cope with it. Another fundamental motive is attributed to the fact that employees should make allowances for the potential of working ambience. In other words, in many workplaces where teamwork is obliged, the onus is on them to be assimilated into the working culture. Hence, in order to not only gain the highest efficiency of tasks but also increase morale, one needs to accompany cooperative, energetic and supportive managers and colleagues.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, it is my reaffirmation that although sufficient income is in some ways crucial, job satisfaction and working environment are of great significance.