Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

In recent years, the fundamental role that museums have to play has gradually become a subject of increasing controversy. In my opinion, museums may and should be both entertaining and educational.

On the one hand, it may be argued that the main role of museums is to entertain. In fact, museums are tourist attractions, and the aim of them is displaying a collection of fascinating objects that the public desire to admire. An ordinary viewer will find it boring if that person have to read or listen too much educational content, therefore, museums should put more attention on creating exciting experience for a large number of people than learning. This kind of museum is displayed attractively and may have interactive activities such as virtual reality and even organize games as a part of exhibitions.

On the other hand, museums should focus on education. It is widely known that the role of museums is to teach visitors about the past, and thus the history of exhibits needs to be explained. Take professional guides for example. They tend to offer headsets to viewers in order to listen to detailed commentary. Listening specific explanations from the guide can help people easily acquire new information and understand very well about the objects and events that survived or happened in the history. From our insights to the past, we can apply them to our present lives. As a consequence, museums can bring useful and valuable knowledge to the public about numerous aspects of life.

In conclusion, it seems to me a favorable museum should be able to provide an interesting and educational experience so that visitors may be happy and learn something simultaneously.