Some people think the news has no connection to people s lives so it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programmes To what extent do you agree or disagree

Options are divided that whether news has no connection to one’s life and reading the newspapers is wasteful. I strongly disagree with the statement, and I believe there is a sharp connection between news and people.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people believe news has no connection to individuals. Due to technological advances in recent years, people can catch up with all the latest information, including trivial news, by surfing social media platforms like Facebook with ease. Therefore, the number of information bearing no values to people’s lives is increasing, which can cause disturbances and distractions to them. Kenh14, for example, the most famous tabloid in Vietnam, offers the latest news revolving around the private life of influencers both on and off stage, thus attracting millions of viewers every day. These people spend hours reading such news having no clues to their lives, leading to a waste of time.

On the other hand, I believe reading or watching television news programs are worth considering. Because the Covid-19 is getting worse globally, people need to update news about the problem. For instance, thanks to enormous efforts of the Vietnamese government, confirmed cases and restricted zones had been updated up to the minute on social networking sites to raise their citizens’ awareness about the danger of the epidemic and how to prevent from being infected, thus putting the problem under control quickly. Besides, the amount spent reading or watching news enables viewers to expand their knowledge, leading to people having multiple-dimensional perspectives towards a problem and enhancing higher living standards.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that despite a series of useless information on the newspaper and programs, reading newspapers and watching news programs regularly provide watchers with numerous informative content.