Some people think that old houses should be knocked down to build new houses or apartment blocks. Others think that old houses should be protected because they are part of a nation’s history. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ on whether old houses should be diminished to build new constructions or protected because they are belong to nation’s history. Personally, I am in agreement with the latter view, even though the other one also shows some positive aspects.

The option to destroy the old houses to build the new ones is attractive for some reasons. One benefit is that this can bring us better living environment. To put it clearly, some old houses are unhealthy and unpleasant to live. Almost old apartment blocks are small, not enough space for kitchen and living rooms. Therefore, people should move to new convenient flats which have more space for family activities. Besides, old house often downgrades after a long time, it is certainly not suitable place for children and elderly to live.

However, I believe it is more beneficial to protect old houses because of their important role in history. In other words,most old buildings were attached to history events or the way our ancestors used to live. By teaching about these buildings, teachers can motivate the patriotism and the pride of the students. Another advantage is that old constructions can be used for attracting foreigners around the world. For example, Hoi An ancient town, one of the most hottest spots in Vietnam, which has many antique architectures. Travellers seem keen on the beauty of old constructions, so most local people here earn living depend on tourist activities.

For the reasons mentioned above, while old houses should be destroyed to build new houses shows undeniable positive aspects, it seems to me that we should keep protecting these old architectures because of their vital role in history and tourism.