Some people say it is the best for children to start learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Other people say it is better to start later. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether it is better for children to study a another language beside mother tongue in the beginning at school or later. Personally, I am agreement with the later view even though the other one also shows some positive aspects.

The option to start to learn foreign language as soon as they go to school is attractive for some reasons. One benefit is that young children are more likely to learn language than adolescents or adults. Generally speaking, they do not work very hard to learn new language. They just repeat what they hear and that all enough for them to learn it well. Then by the time they reach to 9 or 10 years old, they can speak at an advanced level.

However, I believe it is more beneficial to learn foreign language until latter. Firstly, very young children might be confused between languages and tend to mix these languages when they speak. In addition, they can have troubles if these languages use different alphabets. Secondly, in my country, there is a shortage of language teachers. Therefore, most schools do not have enough teachers to give language lessons to very young children.

In conclusion, while studying foreign language early shows some undeniable positive aspects, it seems to me that learning latter is smarter choice.