Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about environmental problems. Controversy exists as to whether lifting the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles is the best way to deal with the problems related to the environment. From my point of view, I strongly suspect that this is not the most qualified method which can be used to improve the environment.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that increasing the fuel price can reduce the amount of exhaust fume. One example to support this point is that according to the statistics published recently on CJES, in Iran average 1% higher actual price of fuel will reduce carbon emission by 0.14%. This figure is estimated to continue going down in the next year. Therefore, the benefit of this method is undisputed.

On the other hand, one compelling argumentative against this opinion is that raising the price of fuel raises many objections of citizens. This is shown by the following example. In 2019, after the current president Emmanuel Macron, together with his government, introduced a series of taxes which hit petrol with a stark price increase, Paris was engulfed by the initial outcry of dismay with public area being set alight by demonstrators. That leads to the blockades, violence and even fatalities which made the French government eventually had to revoke their policy and made the old fuel price come back. As a result, it is obvious that the escalation of fuel cost has sparked many protests of the general public.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that to some extent, increasing fuel price has good solutions for the problems regarding to environment, especially exhaust fume emission. However, it also brings some negative impact to the public. To the best of my knowledge, I wholly disagree with this measure.