Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, environmental degradation has become increasingly alarming across the globe. Whether the cost of fuel for transportation should be raised to tackle this issue is a debatable topic. For me, I believe there are several plausible alternatives.

It is obvious that increasing the fuel price could be of some help to the environment, but it also triggers several adverse impacts on society. Though the necessity of travelling is hardly arguable among citizens, it is likely that only wealthy people may afford the accelerating cost. This puts financial pressure on others with low income, as a result, the gap between the rich and the poor is prone to be loosened. Not to mention, the inflation, caused by higher price of products and services as the cost of transportation keeps going up, is predictable. In the first quarter of 2019, Vietnam witnessed the increase of 2% in the CPI index, which was attributed to the rise of 1% in the price of gas and petrol previously.

Environment-related problems could be tackled by other methods of greater effectiveness. First, there should be an international collaboration on the commitment to curb the proportion of exhaust fume released each year. This is because it is considered as the main culprit of Greenhouse Effect, the primary cause of Global warming which is threatening the habitat of many endangered species. Another crucial measure worth mentioning is to raise the public awareness as each individual could put effort to alleviate environmental deterioration. To illustrate, the Earth hour has achieved huge success all over the world, which attracted millions of young people together protecting the green of the Earth, simply by switching off all electricity devices for one hour.

In conclusion, it is my belief that dealing with environmental degradation consists of both governmental and individual efforts rather than heightening the price of fuel