Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As there are many traffic jams due to mass transportations, some people believe that governments should impose policies to relocate the population to cities instead of the outskirts. In my opinion, I do not agree with this perspective because it would cause adverse effects on society and the economy.

There are many rationales standing behind my point of view, the most significant of which relates to the degraded living standards. Since a massive population gathers in certain cities, it will lead to shortages of living space in residential areas. As a result, the prices of accommodations would increase and be unaffordable for every citizen. Moreover, this will broaden the wealth gap among social classes, which could easily cause unrest among society. Besides, air pollution caused by massive transportation could also impact public health and put burdens on the medical systems of these cities.

Furthermore, because the majority of people live in cities, the suburbs will be sparsely populated. Therefore, governments could not efficiently exploit the resources of these areas, which is wastage in management. Besides, having enormous people living in cities means more transportations, this not only could not reduce traffic problems but also make it becomes severe. Due to this, infrastructures such as roads, bridges need to be maintained frequently, which increases the expenditures of governments. Therefore, governments are likely to face financial deficits to spend on essential aspects.

In conclusion, due to the aforementioned, traffic problems should be addressed by alternative measurements, rather than forcing citizens to live in cities.