Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Besides basic life skills and simple academic knowledge, the most important thing that younger generations have to learn is how to become decent members of society. Therefore, I strongly believe that not only parents and schools are accountable for nurturing children and aspire them to develop as good citizens.

First of all, to be good members of society, children need to be taught to respect and obey their society rules, and the best place for them to learn this is from their families. Parents and other family members who spend lots of time with children could easily educate them what behaviors are encouraged and what actions should be avoided in their society. As the child aging up, the teaching topics need to extend to their social values, the expectations for children and their roles to the community. Being taught these things help to shape children's characteristics and find themselves as proud members of their society.

As children go to school, they add teachers and peers to their network connection and these people would start to have certain influences on them. By participating in classes and being encouraged to expose their ideas, children gradually learn how to cooperate and communicate with others. Classes also resemble a mini-society, so children could learn to respect people's differences as their classmates come from a variety of background. Moreover, through various lessons, teachers enforce children's pride in their society and show how they could contribute to their community.

However, learning to become decent citizens is not as simple as learning some basic skills. Society itself is complex and it takes a life-long learning journey to understand and fulfill individuals' communal duty. Hence, support from other members of the community is needed to make sure that children are continuously being nurtured and inspired to become able citizens.