Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Ethical behaviour is considered to be crucial for societies improvement that is why children need to learn it as soon as possible. To a certain extent, I agree that parents have a role in teaching their children how to be positive members of the community. However, I believe that schools impact on children is greater than of parents.

On one hand, parents effect on children cannot be denied, that is why they should teach their children about being good in the community the soonest possible. Children tend listen to their parents more than anyone else because they consider them as role models. So for example, if parents told their children to always show up on time, tell the truth, and treat other people with respect regardless of their gender, religion, and beliefs; children will unconsciously follow these good behaviours in their life.

On the other hand, schools have a much greater impact on children for the following reasons. First, schools follow a well designed educational programme set by the ministry of education. This means that teachers will be trained to teach ethical behaviour and follow a guideline that is written by professionals in the field. Secondly, schools can encourage children to be good citizens by involving them in community services and encouraging them to volunteer and help in organizing some school’s activities and events. This will enable the children to practically imply what they had learned in school or from their parents. Last but not least, children interaction with other kids will make their learning process quicker. It is proven in many researches that learning anything new with different people will accelerate the learning process for all.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments for both viewpoints, but I believe that the school role in teaching children ethical and good behaviour is more impactful.