Some people think that physical punishment of children is necessary, while others believe that such punishment should be made illegal.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the proper ways to discipline children. Some people believe that it is essential to physically punish children, while others think that such a practice should be outlawed. This essay will discuss both of these views.

On the one hand, using physical punishment on children might have several benefits. In my country, for example, almost all disruptive children are sometimes unwilling to listen to their parents who are less likely to have parenting skills; therefore, smacking children could be the quickest and most effective way to make them more obedient. Besides, the young can learn valuable lessons and avoid making mistakes, which will help them to gain the deeper understanding of the difference between right or wrong behaviors in later life.

On the other hand, corporal punishment should be banned because it has many negative impacts on children’s behavior and health, even family bond. Firstly, children who are subject to some form of violent punishment at home are likely to misbehave, and to engage in delinquent, criminal or antisocial behavior. Worse, sometimes they might be at high risk of having depression or low-self-esteem due to parents’ hard spanking on a regular basis. Secondly, children, if being smacked by their parents, will be less likely to have a good relationship with them because children may not feel parental love and care but also experience emotional and physical abuse and neglect.

In conclusion, although the importance of physical punishment in controlling children’s behaviors and attitudes is undeniable, from my perspective, in the long term, such punishment will put children at unnecessary risk of mental illness and poor health.