Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that the ubiquity of eclectic technological advancements has been widening the wealth inequality, while others reckon the opposite is true. Although this equipment confers pronounced merits on bridging this gap, the reserve is at a higher level.

On the one hand, technologies afford people the scope to access a rich diversity of free-of-charge knowledge and information. These days, credible e-learning platforms such as Udemy, Khan Academic, Skillshare, among others, which are the reservoir of all-facet insights, enable students with financial hardship to enrich their educational background without worrying about tuition fees, thereby standing a chance of landing a decent job in the future. In addition, technological advance empowers the disadvantaged to lift out of poverty. For instance, Facebook has given myriad people opportunities to start their own business at a minimal cost, and the ride-hailing networks such as Grab, GoViet, Be Group generate a substantial decline in the jobless.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some people believe that technologies are the causative factors in social inequality. In fact, the main focus of state-of-the-art devices is merely the affluent individuals. In terms of the medical domain, for example, whilst a great number of advanced therapies for lethal illnesses can save thousands of lives, the exorbitant expenditure of these meditations is still out of reach for the have-nots, thus these privileges are only confined to the haves. If low-income ones want to approach these remedies, they will bear a heavy financial burden, which even exacerbates their socio-economic status quo. Moreover, as the application of automated machines pervades most manufacturers, it poses a threat to human job losses, as evidenced by how innumerous manufacturing jobs are eliminated by automation. According to recent estimations, 47% of unskilled jobs in the US are likely to be supplanted by computers over the next ten years. This problem is compounded by the fact that this trend is no longer a monopoly in developed countries, it is now also jeopardizing the job security of blue-collar workers who will be replaced by the automatic process in myriad industries in developing ones. These repercussions bear testimony to how detrimental effects exerted on income disparity.

In conclusion, technological innovations are the game changer in human society however, it behooves the public to favorably capitalize on them as a bid for a better world.