Some people think that real life skills like cooking, housekeeping and gardening should be included in the curriculum as compulsory subjects? Do you agree or disagree? Explain your opinion, using specific reasons and details.

It is often argued that colleges should make life skill subjects such as cooking food, housekeeping and gardening as mandatory courses for all students. I fell learning these life skills is good for efficient living and I agree that making them obligatory for all students will bring great benefits to them in foresight. The basis for my views is both personal and professional.

From a personal point of view, learning life skills is important and must be learned by every individual. While skills like cooking were essentially taught by parents and grandparents to their children but in today's nuclear families when most of the kids move out of their homes for college studies even before they are an adult, children are unable to learn even the basic skills of cooking and rely on instant food and takeaways, which may be prepared unhygienically, for their daily meals, thus affecting their health in the long-term. For instance, the number of hospital cases due to the consumption of unhealthy and unhygienic meals is on the rise. Thus, know how to cook can help a long way in developing the habit of cooking and consuming homemade healthy food.

Alternatively, from a professional perspective, cooking, housekeeping and horticulture are growing avenues of employment. For example, in Canada, Chefs and food processing assistants providers are paid well always in demand as there is currently a shortage of skilled manpower. Learning these skills professionally will multi-equip people to deal with times of job loss or if they may want to explore these avenues as part-time employment. Therefore, these skills also equip people for an alternate career.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that real-life skills must be included as required subjects of the curriculum as it is always beneficial for the students in the long run and it improves their lifestyle and health as well as provides them with alternate avenues of employment.