Some people think that real-life skills like cooking housekeeping and gardening should be included in the curriculum as compulsory subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, it is undeniable that the world is changing in such a dynamic way that many aspects of life have become inextricably intertwined in this development, including education. Stances are indicating that soft skills like cooking, housekeeping, and gardening should be made fundamental at school. From my perspective, I am of the opinion of this statement for a host of reasons which will be further elucidated in this essay.

To commence with, it should not be overlooked that integrating those aforementioned soft skills into the academic curricula might have a negative impact on the time management of students. To specify, the ubiquity of attending extra classes has rendered students tiring and worn out; were they required to take up those soft-skills teaching classes, it is highly probable that they are snowed under with a bigger assortment of homework and assignments. However, others might argue with this by pointing out that learners can view those classes as recreational activities and enjoy them to the fullest. But if learners are not cut out for cooking scrumptious-looking dishes, or planting seeds and trees in the beginning, they would not find these helpful and enjoyable.

Nevertheless, classes focusing on real-life skills as such may help children to accumulate a reservoir of knowledge in many spheres like biology or cooking in general. Courtesy of the practicality of those subjects, it may do wonders for students’ later life. When they reach adulthood, these skills will help them to lead a decent life. Without these skills, life will become less colorful and more expensive by virtue of the lack of cooking skills or the interest in the world of flora and fauna. In addition, students might have a chance to expand their social circle since they could meet someone with the same interests. What is more, students may find out their aptitude for creating new species, or a passion for making culinary delights, and cater to many people’s palate. Unlike in the past when chefs or gardeners might not be considered noble jobs, nowadays, these jobs have become more ubiquitous and receiving more desirable salaries.

In conclusion, by shedding light on these examples, it is crystal clear that including soft skills in the school curriculum can positively affect children in many ways. All things considered, I stand by the idea that cooking or gardening skills should be made fundamental. That way students can reach their fullest potentials.