Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

No one can argue the fact that children spend a decent amount of their everyday life in schools, which are mainly focused on providing education to them. However, it is important to have entertaining activities there as well to balance the pupil’s social life. This essay will elaborate on this idea and introduce examples to support it.

It is undeniable that the conventional education system is getting out of fashion as it was proven it has been proven in numerous studies that constant studying increases levels of anxiety and negatively affects a person’s mindset. As a result, it leads to a lack of motivation and lower exam marks. Recent statistics have shown that people who tend to focus more on in-class activities are more susceptible to faster burnout and may even drop out in the middle of the year due to nervous breakdowns.

On the other hand, children who participate in recreational activities generally tend to experience less stress and show better focus during classes. For example, a Harvard University study has shown that overall student performance in Northern Virginia High School was improved after less than three months of the implementation of a new program which introduced new lounges with various entertainment options such as art classes, computer games and wellness areas for students during their lunch break. Hence, such activities helped students to unwind and relax, so they could return to the classes with more energy and distressed.

In conclusion, school will always play a crucial role as a student’s main education provider and it is necessary to create an environment that fosters a balance of both educational and leisure activities. Especially when it has become so apparent that these breaks positively affect a child’s performance in school as well as proving essential to their mental health.