The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

Recent Harvard research has shown that childhood obesity increased by twenty-one percent in the past five years in the United States. This essay will discuss various factors explaining such a terrifying trend and it will cover possible long-term effects on the kids.

One of the major factors that has contributed to an increase in children's weight in the past couple of years is unhealthy food. The number of restaurants and vending machines offering often cheap, however, the less healthy options for meals and snacks are growing rapidly every day. These lead to daily temptation for the youngsters to forget about the balanced diet and go for an easy yet much more affordable choice. Another reason behind the obesity epidemic is the lack of physical activity in children's everyday life. With technology development in computers, phones, and PlayStation, a lot of young people face the addictive type of behavior when they are unable to put away their gadgets and go outside to play with their friends. Last but not least, the absence of proper education in healthy eating habits for children and their parents is coming to play as well because a lot of issues arise from the simple lack of knowledge.

As a result of all of this may children gain mind and body related problems. With developing obesity-related chronic diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart issues in later life, people simply lose several years to live. Moreover, extra weight affects the hormonal and chemical work of the brain which leads to depression, anxiety, and incapability of social interaction. All of this lowers the quality of life in general.

In conclusion, factors like poor diet, and sedentary lifestyles because of advances in technology and food availability led to an increase in the children's weight causing serious physiological and psychological problems to their health.