Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The matter of categorizing students based on their abilities is a controversial issue. Both side of this debate have compelling reasons, which I will discuss. However, I believe that children should study together regardless of their intellectual abilities.

Some people claim that streaming, which means grouping students based on their abilities, is more beneficial. Firstly, they argue that this categorization allows teaching each group of students more appropriate subjects and leads to a more specialized syllabus according to student's needs. For instance, pupils with a better mathematical talent may benefit from learning more complex equations, whereas weaker students may get perplexed by these. Secondly, instructors can regulate the pace of teaching based on students' group, thus providing a better learning experience for learners. Finally, streaming enhances the spirit of competition in children and can help them progress in their future occupations.

On the other hand, I think that learning together regardless of abilities is a better alternative. The primary concern is that the rationale for grouping children may be flawed and biased. For example, it has been shown that tests that estimate the IQ of children lack accuracy and reliability. Additionally, separating students may damage their self-esteem, especially for those pupils who have been assigned to a weaker or less intelligent group. Last but not least, grouping children in this hierarchical manner may foster bullying in them by considering some pupils as superior to others.

In conclusion, in my opinion, despite the advantages that streaming may have, teaching children without grouping them offers more positive effects.