Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views.

Over the past few decades, many countries have witnessed an issue which is whether schools should distribute students with distinctive competence into different classes or in the same one. Although it is reasonable for some adults to consider that schools should classify students by ability, I still believe that pupils from every level should combine together.

On the one hand, there are various merits of separating distinctive pupils into various classes based on their capacity. First, instead of devoting the big amount of time on basic knowledge, by classifying classes, teachers are able to put more emphasis on studying advanced ones, requiring every student to be highly concentrated and comprehend fast. For this reason, pupils will stand a better chance for successful accomplishment in their dream top universities. Secondly, participating in an excellent environment contributes to creating a competitive race for pupils to unfalteringly develop. To be specific, when it comes to peer pressure, students are mentally forced to master studying pace more stringently as well as strive harder for top places in the class, or even more, in school. As a result, it will be a precursor for the increase in the quality and prestige of schools.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned advantages of schools sorting distinctive students into different classes, I am of the opinion that classes should be comprised of exceptional students, normal ones and so on. First of all, if schools create an environment where brilliant and ordinary pupils study together, it will do wonders for the normal ones to keep up with the excellent children due to peer pressure. For instance, instead of being familiar with substandard students and being disregarded by the teachers, pupils with lower band have opportunities to apply themselves into serious academic performance by looking up to better ones. In addition, this environment also benefits exceptional students. It lessens their mental health, offering them the right to participate in hands-on experience as well as extracurricular activities at school. As a result, it enables pupils to study hard while not forgetting to enjoy their social lives.

In conclusion, it seems evident that both classifying students based on their competency or combining them together are advantageous in their own ways.