Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academicresults, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question whether rewards should be given to learners gaining excellent academic results or those showing significant improvements in study remains a source of controversy in education field. While some people supporting students with highest scores have their own good arguments, I firmly believe that students making strides in their studies deserve to be awarded.

On the one hand, there is a variety of reasons why rewards should be given to students having excellent academic performances. One reason is to create highly competitive studying environment between students. This motivates learners to put great efforts into studying, aiming to get the highest scores in the study progress. Another reason worth mentioning is to provide encouragements for those passing tests with flying colors to pursue higher education or being admitted to top-tier schools in the future. My secondary school, for instance, selects the best students with the highest overall scores to participate in national competitions.

On the other hand, I side with those who advocate awarding to students improving their level of academic performance. The first benefit is to give equal chances for all learners. Some students with low marks in their tests are more likely to feel motivated and make significant progress, a factor leading to the decline of falling behind with study or dropping out of schools proportion. The second benefit is to instil in students the value of learning and holistic principle of learning, raising awareness that efforts are better than results. Consequently, several common phenomena occurring when examinations approach such as pressure, anxiety and cheating would be reduced.

In conclusion, despite arguments for high-ranking students with excellent academic performance, I am more in favor of those making strides in their studies deserve to be honoured and awarded.