Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
There is a body of opinion which advocates that all youngsters should stay on at school until
they are 18. I agree with this view, despite the arguments for dropping out of school at early age.
There are two important arguments in favour of quitting school before the age of 18. Firstly,
in some countries continuing school until 18 is simply a preparation for entering higher
education. There may be a lack of vocational courses to prepare young people to acquire
experience and skills to enter trades such as electricians, car mechanics or professions such
as nursing. Those who are not intending to pursue an academic career may fall behind with
their studies or even disrupt lessons. Secondly, family background must be considered.
In poor families, young people must leave school and start to earn money to contribute to the
family income. Not all families can afford to let children stay on at school until 18.
However, in spite of these objections, I concur with those who believe in compulsory
education until 18. The provision of a wide range of courses would make learning
meaningful, so that all young people could put the knowledge gained at school into
practice. The global economy now demands high skill levels, and educational qualifications
are essential if youngsters are to have good job prospects and to pursue a successful career.
In financial terms, national and local authorities must provide funding for poor families to
maintain children at school. Children are the shapers of a nation’s tomorrow, so all must
have the chance to make the grade by benefitting from the best possible education during
their formative years.
In conclusion, attending schools until being adults should be supported for the young. I therefore believe that all youngsters and governments can reap benefits from this trend.