Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is no doubt true that achievement disease is increasingly in education leading a controversial common is whether students have the best performance in class should be awarded or others who make much progress in their studies should be concentrated. Personally, I strongly agree with the view that we should give more praises to students show improvement in their studies

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why prizes for students having excellent academic results should be taken into consideration. From the perspective of competitive spirit between peers, commending these students gives not only an incentive to work harder next time but also provokes a desire to rest students, which creates an effective competitive-environment in school. However, it also has a negative side of a problem called “achievement disease”, which is a common phenomenon in school. Other students ought to suffer from parental or social pressures on grades, leading to many bad behaviours in examinations, using materials, copying, namely. Even worse is that some wealthy families tending to keep their images, they ready to offer teachers some bribes to buy grades for their student.

On the other hand, the advantages of praising to students achieving growth studies outweigh its disadvantages. Firstly, it furnishes all students with equal chances, no discrimination, thereby reducing the heavy burden about high marks for students as well as keeping cheats in exams at lower. Moreover, it also inspires students to learn rather than force them to study mechanically due to instead of spending a lot of time on subjects which are not their strong points to get a high distinction; they focus on pursuing their favourite subjects. In fact, falling behind with their studies make many pupils feel bored with studying and then, they decide to drop out of school for earning money. Thus, recognizing their growing performance is the best way to push themself into making more attempts in following semesters

In conclusion, although both of them have many benefits and drawbacks, I suppose giving awards to students having progress in studying is more effective than concentrating on students with the best academic result.