Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvement.

On the one hand, there are those who believe that learners who have the highest scores should be rewarded. (As hard work to set outstanding students apart from mediocre students.) When/As they are rewarded, they will put much effort into their studies. Different from lazy students who have bad studying results, the straight-A student set their priority on learning over play and entertainment. Instead of watching TV, playing games, they spend time revising for exam exams. Thus, hard work will be translated into high scores. In contrast, mediocre learners often neglect studies. Such an attitude hold them back from scoring highly in exams.

On the other hand, I side with those argue that schools should honor students who make progress in learning. Firstly, appreciation will contribute to incentivize them to apply themselves. They will have motivation for striving for higher grades in the next exam. When students have trouble learning, high results as they expect will help them go through and focus on revising for exams. Secondly, a performance-based reward scheme will lead to obsession with rewards. Learners even cheat to attain a higher score and resort to any means available. In this case, it is ludicrous to reward which make the studying enviroment at schools become unfair.