Some People think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together Discuss both views and state your own opinion

People have different views about whether they should have different capacity support each other. While those who support teaching pupils to have abilities together, I personally think that the school having different abilities in an environment is clearly more beneficial.

On the one hand, there are several good reasons why people tend to think that teaching student according to their academic ability. Obviously, intelligent students are separated from weaker students, the teacher can easily control and plan appropriately for both types of students. For instance, teachers can assign advanced materials and exercises to good students so that they can maximize their learning, while for weaker students, they will give basic homework to help students understand and gradually become progressive. Moreover, separating the two types of students would help the bad students not have low self-esteem because they do not have to study with the good students and this would not put pressure on the other students.

Turning to the other side of the argument, I am more convinced that mixed-ability classes are more advantageous. First of all, mixing students together could help balance learning. Indeed, good students can help tutors with poorer students, and it's possible that a friend's instruction will be easier to understand than a teacher's. In addition, in such classes, children with extraordinary abilities study together and in turn they can learn from one another. Let's look at an example, a student, who is good at academic study, but weak at dancing or painting subject, she can learn how to dance or paint from her peers. Therefore, mixed-ability classes bring many opportunities for two types of students.

Taking everything into consideration, despite others' belief that separate-ability classes would bring the most effective to students, I stand by the view that mixed-ability classes would help students have exposure to a variety of aspects.