Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that social networking services exert a detrimental influence on users as well as society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from making use of social media. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advancement of social networking services has revolutionised the way people communicate with each other considering that users are able to send messages to their family members or friends regardless of time and place. Furthermore, on social networking sites, people can share their interests with acquaintances, which makes it possible for them not only to build a strong relationship but also to strengthen their bonds.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the use of social networking sites merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that children vulnerable to distinguishing right from wrong are more likely to being exposed to crimes because offenders can contact youngsters by creating fake profiles with greater ease, which even leads to an increase in abduction. In addition, those who have difficulty controlling themselves become easily addicted to social networking sites. This means that excessive use of social media prevents pupils and working adults from concentrating on their work or studies, affecting their work or academic performance in a negative way. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.