Q4 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of learning a foreign language has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that employment and travelling abroad are not sole reasons to gain foreign language skills, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people learn languages in order to travel and work abroad do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having a tight grasp of a foreign language can facilitate various aspects of overseas trips, from buying groceries to organising cultural activities. In addition, most countries' economies revolve around global trade in the era of globalization. Thus, a large number of citizens who are proficient in a second language can invigorate economic growth considering that they can deal with a multitude of issues more effectively than monolingual counterparts.

My opinion, however, is that travelling and work are not the only valid motivations for becoming competent in different languages. Perhaps the principal advantage of becoming fluent in other languages is that foreign language proficiency can broaden people's perspectives. To be more specific, multilingual individuals have a predisposition not only to be more open to alternative ways of thinking but also to empathise with people from other places and backgrounds with greater ease. Furthermore, by overcoming difficulties in acquiring languages, people can learn patience, which exerts a positive influence on their lives since huge amounts of time and energy are devoted to the learning process. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that taking trips and working abroad are not sole reasons why people are trying to learn a foreign language for the reasons discussed above.