Some people think spending a lot on birthdays and marriage celebrations is a waste of money but others think it is important to the young people and the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Celebrations such as birthdays and marriages are an important part of everyone’s life. However, it is a matter of intense dispute whether spending a lot on such events is a waste of money or whether it is significant for the youth and society as a whole. This essay shall look into both sides of the argument before coming to a conclusion.

There are many reasons why some people opine that having big weddings and birthdays is good for the youth and the society. Firstly, they believe that such events are very special should be celebrated with great pomp and show. As it is the youth of today are forgetting their culture and tradition under the influence of the global culture and such events provide opportunities to revive such traditions in the minds of the youth. Secondly, in the fast paced life of today, it is only on such occasions that friend and relatives take time off to be together. Therefore, to make these days special, people spend lavishly on them. They believe that spending on such events is good to revive the community spirit among people.

On the other hand, there are those who are against such ostentatious spending. They say that such days can be celebrated in a simple way with only a few relatives and friends. There is so much poverty in the world and rather than frittering away a lot of money on such events it is better to donate some to charity to make such days special and meaningful. To cite an example, our great celebrity, Amitabh Bachchan celebrated his daughter’s and son’s wedding very simply with only a few friends and relatives.

Another reason, which goes against overspending on such events, is that many a time people go into debt in order to keep up with their affluent friends and relatives. This one day of celebration may well become the cause of stress for many days or even months later on. What is more, if we want to be rid of the dowry system and female feticide then it is very essential that we keep these celebrations simple and easy on our pockets so that there is no financial strain on anyone.

In my opinion, those who overspend on such days merely want to show their status in society. It is essential to celebrate such days. Celebrations bring a break from the routine and give us “milestones” for our life. Celebrations remind us that we belong to a larger community, be it a family, a nation, or anything in between. However, it is not necessary to make them pretentious.

To sum up, it can be said that celebrating such events is important for the youth and society but it is not necessary to overspend on them.