Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Tailback congestion and accidents become more common in our burgeoning world than used to be. Hence, some individuals hold the view that in order to decrease traffic accidents, penalties are strengthened for driving offenses. However, others are of the opinion that to improve road safety other methods are more productive. In this essay I will analyse both views and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, high taxes on driving faults are beneficial both to the government and drivers. By this I mean, if drivers break the traffic rules, they will pay excessively high taxes which are useful for governments’ budgets. As a result, drivers may drive slowly and cautiously in order to avoid taxes. In Japan, for instance, the maximum speed on normal roads is about 55 or 60 km per hour which means low risk of accidents. However, despite these advantages individuals may resent these heavy fines.

On the other hand, improving the quality of public transports and enlarging roads are more effective ways to decrease accident levels. In other words, if the convenience and charges of public transportation suit individuals they will commute to their workplaces by them instead of cars. Besides, they may save their precious time instead of waiting in traffic congestions. The second way is to enlarge roads which help drivers to move more freely. Besides, it also reduces huge traffic jams in rush hours.

In conclusion, although improving taxes gives lots of benefits, improving public transportation is the most effective way to reduce accidents. I think if the government wants to reduce accidents, they need to pay attention not only to taxes but also the quality of transport which people use daily.