Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views concerning the most effective measures to enhance road safety. Many believe establishing harsh punitive measures would be the most successful solution to decrease the number of road violations, while others believe that there are better ways. In my view, all measures, including strict punishments, should be taken by authorities in order to ensure safe driving for the people.

On the one hand, raising punishments to higher levels can help prevent major road safety infringements such as drunk driving. These punishments can vary from high traffic fines, revoking traffic licenses to imprisonments. When punitive measures are signified, people can be more aware of the damage and the consequences that they would have to face should they try to violate the law. As a result, they will become more careful and pay more attention when traveling on the road. However, strict punishments might not be as effective when dealing with minor accidents or violations that are indeliberate, because people might think they are being treated unequally.

On the other hand, with smaller traffic accidents, other less severe measures may prove to be more effective. To begin with, a lot of people do not cause accidents intentionally, and a small fee to remind them will be able to prevent them from violating again. In addition, it is suggested that the population’s awareness on traffic laws is in positive correlation with road safety. Therefore, the governments can organize workshops and traffic training sessions for citizens, in order to raise their awareness on the correct ways to use their vehicles, as well as the importance of driving safely. Applied together with reasonable punitive measures, these solutions can help contribute to safer driving experiences for people.

In conclusion, I believe that setting forth harsh punishments can help improve road safety, but only if it is incorporated with other less severe measures. All aspects of road safety should be covered effectively in order to fully eradicate traffic accidents.