Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to

reducing traffic accidents. Others, however,believe that other measures would be

more effective in improving road safety.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While a majority of people suppose that relentless penalties for the careless driver are good ways to decrease road accidents, others think that some different solutions could carry out to support traffic safety. In my view, I totally agree with the second statements.

On the one hand, we can not refuse the benefits of strict fines for driving habits. Without these laws, a number of careless drivers will disregard human life and the consequences tend to more serious. For example, in 2005, because of government do not enact the hard punishments for these drivers, more than 4000 cases of car accidents happened in just the first 5 months. Besides, if offensive drivers did not go to jail because of their careless that lead to death for others, more and more innocent people would be suffered by them.

On the other hand, some measures can be implemented to improve road safety. Firstly, if authorities can construct more pavement for pedestrians, they tend to walk on their ways instead of the roads for cars. For instance, in Hanoi, road accidents reduced dramatically because of the building of the priority pavements. Secondly, police officers should increase their appearance in the intersection of the streets to balance the traffic flows. Because people usually do not know how to escape when traffic congestion happens in the rush hours, and the officers will guide and instruct them to deal with these situations.

In conclusion, although hard punishments can improve road safety, I believe that some other ways also will decrease traffic accidents.