Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that history should be a part of students' curriculum. Whereas, others argue that this time could be put for better use. This essay will explain why I believe the drawbacks of studying history are outweighed by the positives.

Considering firstly the drawbacks, history is rarely used in our daily lives so it would be better to focus on science and technology which be more relevant for the future and today's society. This is because, knowledge in science and technology would provide the society with educated professionals who would facilitate in the development of infrastructure such as subways, trams and bridges. On the contrary, gaining knowledge in history would not be sufficient for the overall development and growth of the society. Furthermore, each historical event has different perspectives. For this reason, it makes learning history a waste time because events can be interpreted in a different way which makes what we learn in history less valuable.

Nevertheless, gaining information on history is beneficial as it enables the younger generation to understand how their culture and country have evolved. For example, students can understand how innovations and technology changed during the past decades and also understand what their forefathers experienced and suffered from. Moreover, history teaches people about travesties which have occurred in the past, such as the holocaust. As, it is essential for both people from past, present and future to never forget people in the past to honor the memories of those lost and to ensure it never happens again.

In conclusion, although alternative subjects are more helpful in the overall growth of the nation. It is important for people to learn and understand history as it would enlighten their minds with information necessary for self-development.