Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that endeavors and perseverance are the backbones of success, while others think that wealth and appearance as the deciding factor of success. In my view, I regard hard work and determination as the vital part leading to success, however other factors are unreliable and not positive.

In the first place, hard work lays a solid groundwork for success. Not only because hard work means a good attitude, but also because without hard work as the basis, even a genius cannot bring his/her talents into play, so does the proficiency of a genius. Specifically, a person with astonishingly high language talent cannot command a language without the early stage of reciting vocabulary. However, there certainly are some drawbacks to brute-force hard work, in which case it is very inefficient, tiring and stressful. But hard work with a couple of smart tricks does lead to a huge difference and accomplishments.

On the other hand, money and appearance are what we call 'good fortune'. Admittedly, some lucky people do become rich or famous overnight through appearance, gift or luck, with less chequered careers than those who work hard. However, the reality is, to give an example, even a pretty, charming celebrity still has to work extremely hard in a highly competitive industry where other celebrities are equally beautiful or charming. As a result, these factors are temporary, unreliable and speculative, although surely they add bonus to hard work.

To conclude, the significance of working hard exceeds that of having money and appearance. Without the most fundamental groundwork, namely endeavors, having money and appearance would only be meaningless. Therefore, I strongly recommend people to be less cleverish and speculative but more down-to-earth, diligent and industrious.