Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks which involve hard physical work are done by machines. Do the positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

In recent decades, a growing number of physically-demanding jobs and tasks are done by machinery instead of by hands. I maintain that the positive impacts of this tendency outweigh the negative impacts.

First of all, although it may sound scary, technology, machinery and artificial intelligence do bring earth-shaking changes to the entire human race, especially in the workplace. In terms of hands-on, repetitive jobs, if human labour is largely replaced by high-tech products such as robots, the most evident hazard could be that a sea of people would face unemployment. Particularly, people with occupations like drivers and waiters are on top of the list of losing their jobs. Compared to the relatively cheaper human labour, the utilization of machinery may be much costlier. From the above, it can be inferred that there would be a dramatic economic downturn due to large-scale unemployment and the huge expenditure on the expensive mechanical equipment.

On the contrary, not only could machines free human beings from trivial, laborious, and time-consuming chores, but also could they stimulate people's imagination, creativity and emotional intelligence, making the world a more humane place to live in. When people are liberated from intensive stiff, repetitive and even soulless manual tasks, their lives would become easier and they would be entitled to more time and freedom to do what they genuinely long for from the inside. Specifically, people would be given chance to develop their potentials in subjects like art, humanities, design, and so on, or, for instance, work as a psychologist who utilizes emotional skills and humanity to cure people, which robotics cannot comprehend and substitute for. As a result, there would be a deeper sense of happiness, enjoyment and satisfaction amongst the whole human species. In other words, liberation from boring physical work by machinery would bring about delight and betterment for the whole society.

In conclusion, I concur that the pros of the trend mentioned above surpass its cons, because of the freedom and enjoyment it would bring to humans.