Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion ?

Technological booms have impacted multi-faceted aspects of life in recent years. While there are people believing that new applications of technology would help to reduce criminality, others think otherwise. This essay will elaborate on both sides and explain why intervention of technology would helps restrict crime rather than foster it.

On the one hand, ubiquity of social media spreads criminal acts. It is not uncommon that young people, the main users of social platforms could be contributors to the phenomenon. The young get their unenviable reputation for their frivolity and superstition due to their scarcity of life experience. Their negative patterns of behavior thus can be pale imitations of criminal acts which are rampant on the networking sites. Another downside of technological advancement is that it helps cover the identity of its users. Given the ease of creating new accounts on the internet, cybercriminals can sheathe themselves in the cloak of online anonimity. This makes tracing and unmasking the vilians on internet platforms difficult for the authorities.

On the other hand, utilization of technology acts can deter crimes. One of the most widespread use of technology to prevent lawlessness is application of sercurity camera. The state-of-the-art equipment coupled with other redeeming features such as facial regconition function can support investigators in searching for law-breakers or runaways. Additionally, by designing algorithms that can regconize potential crime scenes, developers can provide the antidote for lowering the chance of people commiting crimes. Finally, with devices in tracking former criminals are already in use, which are useful in informing and warning the convicts to stay away from certain subjects. This not only shield the vulnerable from hostility but stop those once violated the law from recidivism.

In sum, even though the advancement of technology contributes to criminal activites, its benefits definately offset the drawbacks.