Some people think travelling abroad is a valuable experience for young people. Others think it wastes too much time and expense. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Having travelled to 15 countries by the time I was just 23 years of age, I am obviously a proponent of travelling young. In my opinion, the benefits of travelling at a young age hugely outweigh the potential disadvantages, although certain risks do exist.

Firstly, expenditure is always the greatest concern for young people since most of them haven’t worked a lot, they often lack the financial resources to travel abroad. Moreover, some people argue that young people should focus more on their study or work instead of wasting time on leisure such as travelling. Besides, the parents may worry about if their children will be safe to travel to an unfamiliar foreign place. While these disadvantages do exist, I believe that there are more merits for young people to explore the world.

There is no denying that travel can broaden people’s horizon. By meeting new people, getting to know different cultures and adventuring in different places, these experiences which young people can gain from travelling are absolutely valuable and beneficial to their future study or work life. Furthermore, whilst travelling as well as exploration, they can make their knowledge wider and be open-minded. Last but not least, young people especially who just graduated from high school can learn to live independently through travelling abroad since they need to make themselves to get to used to a completely different environment from home.

In a conclusion, even though some malpractices exist, I believe travelling abroad brings young people crucial and valuable sophisticate.