News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

News media are playing an extremely vital rule in modern society. They offer people with the freshest information and sometimes may shape people’s mind. Since news media inform people’s view of the world, I believe its influences are bilateral.

Initially, with the development of technology, news media have grown to take on more forms than ever. They are no longer just the 7 pm Broadcast on television or FM 89.7 on the radio. They can be the websites we visit, the tweets we read, or the Facebook posts we like. The information is never such easy and quick to get access to. Those snippets of information add up to people’s worldview and inform them when it comes to making their own opinions and judgements. Furthermore, news media keep people updated and bring people together with common topics.

There is no denying that news media have such enormous positive influences. However, they also affect people negatively especially young children. There are some types of programme and website such as criminal or pornography could give a negative impact on children as they tend to act upon on what they saw. Moreover, since celebrities are the favourite resource of news media, a number of people did plastic surgery or purchased luxury products just to worship their idols. Last but not least, there is a chance of spreading false and truth less information to the public such as certain western media like to describe Asian countries as poor or unsafe places, which totally distorts the facts.

In conclusion, news media play a significant role in people’s daily life. They influence people both positively and negatively as well. In my opinion, if news media are being used wisely and appropriately, the benefits they will give us are tremendous.