Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The issue of universities’ curricular is a great concern in society. Some people advise institutions to apply students with more factual understanding instead of academic knowledge. Others do not suppose that. But in my opinion, I completely agree with the statement.

To begin with, nobody can deny that academic knowledge has pivotal importance. Students should have basic understanding of the field which is the basis of working in the future. However, nowadays most students lack practical knowledge that just can be gained from experience because institutions, in fact, focus on academic lessons. Thus, most graduates have to be retrained after hired and recruiters rarely find graduates who are both knowledgeable and skilled.

Moreover, an amount of knowledge they gain in university hardly have applicability, even some information is outdated/not up-to-date. It actually causes time and money lavishness for enterprises and employees. Hence, the combination of academic knowledge and hands-on activities is extremely essential for college students. Universities should give more chances for students to experience practice so as to fill the gap of factual knowledge.

Briefly, I think institutions should attach more importance to practical training, but do not forget to improve the quality of theoretical education.