Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; other think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose that university education serves. However, whether universities should mainly provide job-related skills or pure knowledge to graduates has caused heated debate. I agree with the view that job-related knowledge and skills should be the main concern of universities.

It is obvious that the main focus of receiving a university education is to provide students with practical knowledge and skills which enable them to become well-qualified employees in the job market. which means this tendency will become the most welcomed subjects among the majority of students will select. so, universities, as service providers, have to accommodate the demand of customers.

Meanwhile, those who harbor the view that the main function of universities should be to give access to the knowledge believe that theoretical knowledge is the foundation of any practical skill. Indeed, there are students who interested in knowledge for its own sake, and they will later become scientists and scholars who will make greater contributions to our society. But still, the cons are far better.

In conclusion, the major function of universities should be providing most students with job-related skills, guaranteeing a high rate of employment and thus making the society function well. Meanwhile, we should not underestimate the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can universities maintain dynamic and sustainable development.